Sonnet I

I sit silent on the banks of the Styx,
one toe dipped into the fiery waters,
and watch the boats as they float through the mist
as Hades emerges from his quarters;
I lie in a dreamland at my lords feet,
submissive, just waiting to be taken,
but my lord bends down and he speaks to me,
for I have not yet been forsaken;
Though Hades may be a cruel dictator,
none could ever deny that he is wise,
and on the edge of his burning crater,
his arms still, to me, are kinder than life.
But I walk, barefoot, by the river Styx,
and by Satan’s mercy emerge from the mist.

Leave a Reply

